Thema: The Boy and the World

One Future Award 2014 to „The Salt of the Earth“

The One Future Award 2014 is being awarded to the film The Salt of the Earth by Wim Wenders and Juliano Ribeiro Salgado.

Von links nach rechts: Eckart Bruchner (Direktor der Interfilm-Akademie München/Antwerpen), Vera Müller (Bildende Künstlerin und Filmemacherin) stellvertretend für Wim Wenders und Rahwa Seyum (Fotografin und Sängerin) stellvertretend für Juliano Ribeiro Salgado

From left to right: Eckart Bruchner (director of the Interfilm Academy Munich), Vera Müller (visual artist and film maker) representative for Wim Wenders and Rahwa Seyum (photographer and singer) representative for Juliano Ribeiro Salgado

Three voices and three perspectives come together in this artistically designed documentation: Wim Wenders‘ own, the one of his co-director Juliano Ribeiro Salgado and the one of his father, the great photographer Sebastião Salgado.
A both fascinating and shocking picture of the past 50 years developes parallel to Salgado’s biography: from famines in Africa via poverty in South America to the refugee crises in the Sahel, the genocide in Rwanda and the most recent European disaster in the Balkans.
Despite this shattering résumé the film succeeds in subtle ways to pick the audience up at the valley of resignation and to hint at a possible path into the future, in the spirit of „justice, peace and integrity of creation.“ Salt of the Earth combines aesthetics and ethics in a humanely convincing manner, so that the viewer – from which culture, region and religion whatsoever – takes courage not to give up, but to work for the future of the world.

Viktoria by Maya Vitkova – Bulgaria/Romania 2014
O menino e o mundo (The Boy and the World) by Alê Abreu – Brazil 2013

Von links nach rechts: Leona "Lotta" Schwering (consulting member für Kinderfilme), Alê Abreu (Regisseur), Eckart Bruchner (Direktor der Interfilm-Akademie München/Antwerpen)

From left to right: Leona „Lotta“ Schwering (consulting member for the children’s program), Alê Abreu (director), Eckart Bruchner (director of the Interfilm Academy Munich)